Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Semanko and Denney Name Two New Redistricting Commissioners, But Current Members Say They're Not Leaving

Posted By on Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 3:37 PM


Idaho Republican Party Chairman Norm Semanko and Idaho House Speaker Lawerence Denney have named two new GOP members to Idaho's Redistricting Commission to replace two commissioners who say they're not going anywhere.

Semanko and Denney said they want to fire current commissioners Randy Hansen and Dolores Crow, and replace them with Bob Forrey and Angela Cross.

All of this came in the wake of the Idaho Supreme Court tossing out the commission's most recent plan to slice up Idaho into new legislative and congressional districts. When Semanko and Denney indicated they wanted to change membership (the committee is made up of three Republican-appointed commissioners and three Democratic-appointed members), Hansen and Crow said they aren't leaving, and the Attorney General's Office weighed in, saying Semanko and Denney had no business firing them.

To make matters even more uncomfortable, the Republican Party filed suit against the state, saying Denney and Semanko did indeed have the power to hire and fire redistricting commissioners.

Meanwhile, the redistricting panel is set to meet Wednesday to begin drawing up new maps.

Talk about musical chairs. We'll see who has a seat when the music stops.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Pin It


Comments are closed.

Join the conversation at facebook.com/boiseweekly
or send letters to editor@boiseweekly.com.

© 2016 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation