Montana is the latest neighboring state to consider telling its residents to hang up and drive.
This morning's Missoulian reports that the Montana State Senate Highways and Transportation Committee is mulling a bill that would restrict talking on the phone while driving to only a hands-free device. The same bill would ban minors from talking on cellphones altogether while behind the steering wheel.
The proposed measure would slap first-time violators with a fine of $50, second-time violators with a fine of $100, and third-time violators with a fine of $200.
Idaho continues to be one of the only states in the region that sees its drivers talking while driving.
A year ago, the 2012 Idaho Legislature approved a texting-while-driving ban, which went into effect in July 2012.
Idaho motorists face a possible $81.50 fine if they're caught tweeting or texting while their car is in motion.