Tuesday, April 10, 2012

World Jet Boat River Races Start This Weekend

Posted By on Tue, Apr 10, 2012 at 11:12 AM

Want to do something out of the ordinary this weekend? You might want to consider heading up north to take advantage of a rare opportunity to watch speed boat races on the rivers of Central Idaho.

Starting this weekend the state hosts the World Jet Boat River Races on the Salmon, St. Joe, Snake and Clearwater rivers. In a recent article Boise Weekly gave readers a glimpse of boat racing culture and chatted up a few of the local participants.

Opening ceremonies and events begin at 6 p.m. at St. Maries’ Lower City Park on Friday, April 13, followed by the first legs of racing on the St. Joe River Saturday, April 14, and Sunday, April 15. Spectators may watch the race for free from a river bank with public access along each of the four rivers.

The 2012 Toyota Weaver Seed World Jet Boat Marathon Championship continues over a nine day period, Friday, April 13-Saturday, April 21 on select sections of the Snake River at Lewiston Monday, April 16-Tuesday, April 17; the Clearwater River at Orofino on Wednesday, April 18, and the Salmon River at Riggins Thursday, April 19-Saturday, April 21. For the latest racing information go to the event's Facebook page.

Tags: , ,

Pin It
Favorite

Comments


Comments are closed.

Join the conversation at facebook.com/boiseweekly
or send letters to editor@boiseweekly.com.

© 2017 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation