It is considered inappropriate behavior for morticians to use "profane, indecent or obscene language in the presence of a dead human body, or within the immediate hearing of the family or relatives of the deceased, whose body has not yet been interred or otherwise disposed of."
Only a funeral establishment may run a crematory in Idaho.
To become a mortician, an individual must attend two years of college, an embalming course, one year of apprenticeship and a passing grade on a state-administered exam.
It is within their licensing for morticians to perform home burials.
Only seven states have restrictive casket sales-Idaho is one of them.
Only five states do not allow home burial-Idaho is not one of them.
A certificate of stillbirth is required when a fetus dies after 20 weeks of gestation or when a weight of 350 grams is reached.
As of 1998, the death rate in Idaho could support approximately 34 full-time mortuaries; there were 76 such establishments at the time.
Next of kin is determined in the following order: surviving spouse, all adult sons and daughters, parents, all adult siblings, guardian or "person in charge."
Embalming is not routinely required by any state, though extended time between death and disposition, transportation across state lines and internal mortuary rules may modify this fact.
Any person who knowingly leaves the carcass of any animal within a quarter mile of any inhabited dwelling, public highway or water source longer than 24-hours or who buries the remains within 200 feet of any stream, canal, ditch, flume or irrigation device rendering them unfit for domestic use is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction can be fined up to $100.
When no person takes charge of the body of the deceased, the coroner is responsible for "decently" interring the body; and if there is not sufficient property belonging to the estate of the deceased to pay the necessary expenses of the burial, the expenses are a legal charge against the county.