I'm Dreaming of a Grinch Christmas 

Just like the ones I used to know

Once the Thanksgiving dishes are cleared from the table and the relatives have left, we can get down to a real holiday tradition—turning on the television. Turkey Day kicks off a month-long marathon of kitschy, heart-warming and down-right-ridiculous programming. Christmas-themed episodes are already planned for Community, Modern Family and The Simpsons, but let’s face it: We want the classics.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas will air twice this year: Monday, Nov. 28, on ABC, and again on Wednesday, Dec. 7, on the Cartoon Network. ABC will broadcast A Charlie Brown Christmas twice, on Monday, Dec. 5, and Thursday, Dec. 15. Rudolph shines on CBS this year, airing Tuesday, Nov. 29. On Friday, Dec. 9, Frosty comes to town on CBS. Jimmy Stewart reminds us, once again, that It’s a Wonderful Life on Saturday, Dec. 3, and Saturday, Dec. 24 on NBC. Bing croons White Christmas on Monday, Dec. 12, airing on AMC. Miracle on 34th Street airs Christmas Eve on TCM while TBS broadcasts its annual marathon of A Christmas Story, also on Christmas Eve.

The most-surreal Christmas Eve broadcast can be found on the Sprout Network, which features programming tailored for infants. It’s the Snooze-a-thon, showing cartoon characters and puppets sleeping, presumably dreaming of sugarplums. It goes on for hours until the dawn of Christmas morning. It’s hilarious.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments


Comments are closed.

Calendar

or

Latest in Screen News

Larry King Interviews…

Popular Events

  • Boise Classic Movies: The Muppet Christmas Carol @ Egyptian Theatre

    • Thu., Dec. 8, 7 p.m. $9 online, $11 door
  • Boise Classic Movies: Christmas Vacation @ Egyptian Theatre

    • Sat., Dec. 17, 6 & 9:15 p.m. $9 online, $11 door
    • Buy Tickets Buy Tickets
  • Boise Classic Movies: It’s a Wonderful Life @ Egyptian Theatre

    • Tue., Dec. 13, 7 p.m. and Wed., Dec. 14, 7 p.m. $9 online, $11 door
    • Buy Tickets Buy Tickets

© 2016 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation