Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Election 2012: Ada Voters Choose ACHD, County Commissioners

Dave Case and Jim Tibbs will be part of new County Commission

Posted By on Wed, Nov 7, 2012 at 7:17 AM

It appears as if there will be some change coming to the Ada County Highway District Commission.

With votes still being tallied, it appears as if Jim Hansen will unseat ACHD District 1 Commissioner Carol McKee. Hansen was enjoying a 3,000 vote margin over McKee with a third challenger, Neil Pilspanen trailing far behind.

Rebecca Arnold, ACHD District 2 commissioner and current commission president, easily won re-election over challenger John Carver, who stirred things up at an Oct. 18 candidates forum when he said "ACHD has a bully issue."

Arnold told Carver that she was offended by his remarks.

A third commissioner, Sara Baker, ran unopposed.

In the races for Ada County Commission, Republicans Dave Case and Jim Tibbs easily won election to the commission, joining incumbent Rick Yzaguirre on the three-person panel.

Both Case and Tibbs made it clear during their campaigns that they were troubled by the commission's earlier deals with Dynamis Energy over its plans to build a controversial waste-to-energy plant at the county landfill. Yzaguirre had supported the deal, but once Case and Tibbs are sworn in, he will find himself in a minority.

The election results will no doubt set a new mood for this Thursday's public hearing on the Dynamis project, which is the subject of a formal investigation into whether there is enough evidence to support charges against the company and county commissioners who gave the green light to the project.

Tags: , , ,

Pin It


Comments are closed.

Join the conversation at
or send letters to

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation