Wednesday, November 27, 2013

"12 Years a Slave" Tops Independent Spirit Nominations

Posted By on Wed, Nov 27, 2013 at 11:22 AM

The 2013/2014 film award season began in earnest Nov. 26 with the unveiling of the Independent Spirit Award nominations, which honor "smaller" budget films.

Many of the titles should be familiar to Boise Weekly readers: 12 Years a Slave, a stunning chronicle of American slavery, picked up a total of seven Independent Spirit nominations—Best Feature, Best Director, Best Male Lead, Best Supporting Male, and Best Supporting Female.

Following, is a list of the nominees:

Best Feature: 12 Years a Slave, All Is Lost, Frances Ha, Inside Llewyn Davis, Nebraska

Best Actor: Bruce Dern (Nebraska), Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave), Oscar Isaac, (Inside Llewyn Davis), Michael Jordan, (Fruitvale Station), Matthew McConaughey, (Dallas Buyers Club) and Robert Redford (All Is Lost).

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Julie Delpy (Before Midnight), Gaby Hoffmann (Crystal Fairy), Brie Larson (Short Term 12) and Shailene Woodley (The Spectacular Now).

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave), Will Forte (Nebraska), the late James Gandolfini (Enough Said), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) and Keith Stanfield (Short Term 12).

Best Supporting Actress: Melonie Diaz (Fruitvale Station), Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine), Lupita Nyongo'o (12 Years a Slave), Yolanda Ross (Go For Sisters) and June Squibb (Nebraska).

Patton Oswalt hosts the Spirit Awards on Saturday, March 1, 2014, during a daytime ceremony in a beachfront tent in Santa Monica.

Tags: ,

Pin It


Comments are closed.

Join the conversation at
or send letters to

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation