Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Mixtape: Sleepy Seeds, 'Sleepy Seeds'

Posted By on Wed, Jul 23, 2014 at 8:20 AM

Sometimes, when a band includes a number of well-known musicians—or even only one—and the term "supergroup" gets attached to it, misconceptions can either preclude someone from listening or can lead to unfulfilled expectations. 

Local indie-rock band Sleepy Seeds is comprised of four talented musicians: Joey Corsentino (vocals, guitar); Chad Keever (drums); Marty Chase Martin (vocals, guitar); and Brett Nelson (vocals, bass). If that last name seems familiar, it's probably because it was on the sleeve of an album or two—Nelson is the former bassist for Built to Spill.

So, it would be accurate to use "super" in conjunction with Sleepy Seeds, but not for the reason groups get that moniker. The self-titled debut of the newish band (the quartet has been together less than two years) fits the true definition of the word as something "outstanding," "surpassing others" and "beyond a standard or a norm." 

So, set aside whatever preconceived notions you may have and listen to Sleepy Seeds. In a word, it's better than good.

Sleepy Seeds - “Different” (2014) from Jason Sievers on Vimeo.

Tags: , ,

Pin It


Comments are closed.

Join the conversation at
or send letters to

© 2018 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation