25 Idaho Counties in Drought Disaster Conditions; 18 More in Contiguous Drought Designation 

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture
Five Idaho counties - Benewah, Bonner, Clearwater, Kootenai and Latah - have been named primary natural disaster areas due to this summer's intense drought. Meanwhile, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has named Boundary, Idaho, Lewis, Nez Perce and Shoshone counties as so-called "contiguous" disaster counties, meaning that landowners there will also be eligible for emergency assistance.

To date, 25 Idaho counties have received primary natural disaster designations for the U.S.D.A.. They are: Adams, Benewah, Bingham, Blaine, Bonner, Butte, Camas, Canyon, Clark, Clearwater, Custer, Elmore, Fremont, Gooding, Jefferson, Jerome, Kootenai, Latah, Lincoln, Minidoka, Owyhee, Payette, Twin Falls and Washington. 18 more counties have received contiguous drought designations. They are: Ada, Bannock, Boise, Bonneville, Boundary, Caribou, Cassia, Gem, Idaho, Lemhi, Lewis, Madison, Nez Perce, Oneida, Power, Shoshone, Teton and Valley.

This morning's Lewiston Tribune reports that Governor C.L. "Butch" Otter's office continues to monitor drought conditions in north central Idaho but no state emergency declaration has been designated.

"While we don't know how long these conditions will persist, we are doing what we can to mitigate the effects for property owners, agriculture, aquaculture and homeowners," said Otter in a prepared statement.

click to enlarge drought.jpg

Pin It



Comments are closed.

Submit an Event

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation