Audio Moonshine: Let's Be . . . 

When Jake Ransom was the bassist for local groups Crash 4 and David Andrews Band, he envisioned gathering many of his favorite Boise musicians and making a locally flavored disc. Audio Moonshine's debut CD, Let's Be ..., is that disc, an easy-to-listen-to, pop rock groover that makes it hard to sit still. Ransom (vocals, guitars, bass) wrote the lyrics and catchy tunes, while musicians like Farmdog members Christine Thomas (vocals) and Larry Kiser (lap steel), as well as former House of Hoi Polloi member Jason Roark (piano/keyboard), added harmonies and signature solos to music Ransom affectionately refers to as "spud rock." Ransom's former Crash 4 bandmates Kelly Martin (guitar), Rebecca Gourley (violin) and Chad Waite (drums) fill Audio Moonshine's album roster, along with Jamie Vink (bass) and Hoi Polloi alum Steve Fulton (Hammond/Rhodes/guitar). On the my-life-is-at-a-crossroads anthem "Not Today," solo artist Rebecca Scott adds a soulful wail while David Andrews provides an extra layer of deft guitar work. Dan Costello adds harmonica punctuation to the alt-country tune "Slow Motion," which starts out like a lazy acoustic float down the Boise River, zips over rolling electric rapids, then glides to a stop on a sandy acoustic shore.

Pin It


Comments are closed.

More by Jennifer Hernandez

Submit an Event

Today's Pick


Popular Events

  • 1332 Records Punk Monday @ Liquid Lounge

    • Mondays, 9 p.m. and Mondays, 9 p.m. Continues through Nov. 13 FREE
  • The Interrupters and SWMRS @ Knitting Factory Concert House

    • Sun., Oct. 15, 7 p.m. $14-$35
    • Buy from TicketWeb
  • TroyBoi @ Knitting Factory Concert House

    • Wed., Sept. 20, 8 p.m. $16-$35
    • Buy from TicketWeb

© 2017 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation