CD Review 

Terrorhawk: Bear Vs. Shark

If forced to distill all my impressions and thoughts on the CDs I review to one word, the latest release from Bear Vs. Shark, Terrorhawk, would earn a solid "kinetic." At times reaching a near-frantic pace, I was struck by how much musical fever has been jammed into these tracks. Even the slower songs have urgency about them.

It's partly the full-throttle delivery Marc Paffi brings to every word he howls, screams and occasionally sings, but it's also the fluid, fast guitar work the band's three guitarists pull off here. The best example of this is "Baraga Entertainment," a midtempo curveball featuring saxophone work from Morphine's Dana Colley. It's here that the album, whose first four songs came flying out of the gate, begins to show an unexpected thoughtfulness. "I F***** Your Dad" is a slow, grunge-inflected winner that evokes melancholy without drowning in it, and overcomes its bizarrely inappropriate title.

At 15 tracks, this sophomore attack from BVS may drag a bit long, but there's good stuff here, enough to justify any dead spaces.

Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of...

Comments


Comments are closed.


Submit an Event

Today's Pick

Sean Rogers

Popular Events

  • Broken Outlaws @ Ha' Penny Bridge Irish Pub and Grill

    • Fri., May 4, 8 p.m., Sat., May 19, 8 p.m., Sat., May 26, 8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 8 p.m., Sat., June 9, 8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 8 p.m., Sat., July 14, 8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 8 p.m. and Sat., July 28, 8 p.m. FREE
  • Camden Hughes @ Chandlers Steakhouse

    • Wednesdays, 5:15 p.m. and Sat., April 28, 5:15 p.m. Continues through May 2 FREE
  • Porn Bloopers @ High Note Cafe

    • Sat., April 21, 9 p.m. FREE

© 2018 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation