'Esto Perpetua': Elite Historians Honored by Idaho Historical Society 

They're called the Esto Perpetua Awards—Latin for "Let it be Eternal," the state motto of Idaho—and this year's awards will be granted to nine individuals and two organizations to honor their advocacy in preserving Idaho's past.

The Esto Pertua's will be handed out on Tuesday, June 2 to:
  • Dan Everhart of Boise—Boise Weekly readers know Everhart well for his work with Preservation Idaho. He appears in today's edition of BW, talking about the Central Addition "Send Off" party set for Saturday, May 1. Everhart was instrumental in the creation of several Preservation Idaho programs, including Heritage Home Tours, Modern Masters and ArchWalks.
  • Richard Holm of Boise—historian and author of Bound for the Backcountry: A History of Idaho's Remote Airstrips, honored for his work in preserving several Idaho fire lookouts.
  • Joe Bell of Nampa—champion of Nampa and Canyon County history for 20-plus years.
  • Michael Crosby and Dr. Terry Magoon of Salmon—educators who worked with students to chronicle the history of Lemhi County.I
  • Monty Danner of Hayden—the man responsible for bringing the Clark House on Hayden Lake back to life.
  • Sharon Harris of Kendrick—founder of the Juliaetta-Kendrick Heritage Foundation.
  • Joann Jones of Moscow—longtime curator, librarian, researcher and designer for the Latah County Historical Society.
  • Lyle Wirtanen of Lewiston—former executive director of the Historical Museum at St. Gertrude.
  • Lewiston Tribune—one of the oldest newspapers in Idaho, publishing for more than 125 years.
  • Upper Snake River Valley Historical Society of Rexburg—celebrating its 50th anniversary.
Tickets to the awards ceremony and reception are $20 and reservations must be made by Monday, May 25, 2015.

Pin It


Comments are closed.

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation