Idaho State Historical Society to Hand Out 14 "Esto Perpetua" Awards 

click to enlarge PUBLIC DOMAIN
  • Public Domain
Idaho's state seal is the only one of all 50 state designs that was created by a woman: Emma Edwards Green, a painter whose concept was chosen unanimously for the honor. Green's seal features the Latin phrase "esto perpetua" or "let it be perpetual," which eventually became Idaho's unofficial state motto. Many years later, the Idaho State Historical Society adopted the slogan for its Esto Perpetua Awards, and on Monday, June 3, it will hand out its 20th year of accolades to 14 people and organizations that have helped safeguard and publicize Idaho's history.

In a May 7 press release, the Historical Society revealed its 2019 awardees, including four people from Boise: Judy Austin, Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb, Ana Maria Schachtell and Todd Shallat. The two organizations to be honored are Friends of Cordelia, which oversees a historic church in Moscow, and the Relight the Night Committee of Pocatello, which works to preserve that city's neon signs. In addition, Randy Dixon of Pocatello, Leanne Campbell of Plummer, Marla and Morris Krigbaum of New Meadows, Robert Singletary of Coeur d'Alene and Dr. Russell Tremayne of Twin Falls will be honored, and Mary Jane Groberg Fritzen of Idaho Falls will receive an award posthumously. The only non-Idaho resident to be recognized will be Keith Peterson of Pullman, Washington.

  • Idaho State Historical Society
“Each recipient has demonstrated a truly exceptional level of achievement in their efforts to preserve a part of Idaho’s heritage,” ISHS Executive Director Janet Gallimore wrote in a press release.

The award ceremony, a ticketed public event, will take place at the newly reopened Idaho State Museum on June 3 at 5:30 p.m. Tickets are available at
Pin It


Comments are closed.

More by Lex Nelson

Readers also liked…

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation