New Move, Feb. 18, The Olympic 

Seldom does someone use the phrase "new move" to describe a negative.

Seldom does someone use the phrase "new move" to describe a negative. In business, it usually suggests a climb up the professional ladder or a shift into a more fitting position. In music, it's also a positive—especially in reference to stylish, funny Portland, Ore.-based pop quintet New Move, whose visuals are as engaging as its music.

The video for "It Was No Good"—off of New Move's self-titled debut album (Bug Hunt, 2016)—is an expertly shot two-part noir comedy vignette about a museum heist perpetrated by a bandit named The Rook and his double-crossy romance with Lady Lightning, a vigilante—New Move gets bonus points for setting a supervillain lair in the Portland train station clock tower. The second video picks up the story during a police stakeout at the clock tower with a schlubby cop and his exasperated partner arguing about whether one of them ever owned a dog named Gary, and the rest of the 4:14 track is a brilliant conversation between the two.

Seeing New Move live is definitely a positive.

Pin It
Favorite

Speaking of The Olympic

Latest in Listen Here

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Note: Comments are limited to 200 words.

Readers also liked…


Submit an Event

Popular Events

  • Broken Outlaws @ Ha' Penny Bridge Irish Pub and Grill

    • Fri., June 8, 8 p.m., Sat., June 9, 8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 8 p.m., Sat., July 14, 8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 8 p.m. and Sat., July 28, 8 p.m. FREE
  • Live Music @ Pengilly's Saloon

    • Sat., June 2, 9 p.m., Fri., June 8, 9 p.m., Sat., June 9, 9 p.m., Sat., June 16, 9 p.m., Sat., June 23, 9 p.m. and Wed., June 27, 9 p.m. FREE
  • Treasure Valley Singles Dance @ Eagles Lodge Nampa

    • Sundays, 7:30-10:30 p.m. Continues through July 29 $6-$7

© 2018 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation