Sun Valley Film Festival 2019 Award Winners 

click to enlarge SVFF
  • SVFF
Organizers of the Sun Valley Film Festival are already making plans for the 2020 edition, but not before handing out awards to this year's honorees and fan-favorite films.

Here's the full list of 2019 SVFF film awards:

Audience Award (voted on by moviegoers)
WINNER: Long Shot, directed by Jonathan Levine
Additional Audience Award Finalists:
The Parts You Lose, directed by Christopher Cantwell
Ghost Fleet, directed by Shannon Service and Jeffrey Waldron
Running with Beto, directed by David Modigliani
Sea of Shadows, directed by Richard Ladkani

Producer’s Vision Award (recognizing a producer’s ability to keep a dramatic, feature length film in focus during the journey of the project)
WINNER: Running with Beto, producer Jeff Steen

One in a Million Awards (honoring feature length stories made for under one million dollars)
NARRATIVE WINNER: Lemonade, directed by Ioana Uricaru
DOCUMENTARY WINNER: Tigerland, directed by Ross Kaufman and produced by Fisher Stevens

The Shorty Award (best short film across all categories)
WINNER: Kate in Oxnard, directed by Emily Tomson

Gem State Award (presented by Festival sponsor Zions Bank, this award recognizes an Idaho filmmaker whose work best reflects the beauty and diversity of Idaho)
WINNER: MAR: Episode 1, directed by Martin McGreevy

Here's a list of film and screenwriting competition winners:

Nat Geo WILD TO INSPIRE (winner receives $1,000 and a National Geographic Expedition to explore wildlife and wild places up close alongside Nat Geo Explorers)
WINNER: The Flip, Reed Rickert

Nat Geo Further Award (recognizing a leader whose work is uniquely innovative, timely, and impactful—someone who has boldly pushed the boundaries of his or her field, and who serves as an outstanding ambassador for that breakthrough work.)
WINNER: Mariana van Zeller

The Film Lab (winners of the competition traveled to the festival, where the work-in-progress film was screen-tested for audience feedback and will be taken to two additional cities before locking and completing the picture with Los Angeles-based post-production company The Farm, which will provide up to $185,000 in services. Variety is a partner of the program)
WINNER: Colewell, directed by Tom Quinn, produced by Matthew Thurm, Craig Shilowich, Joshua Blum and Alexandra Byer

High Scribe (finalists were afforded an opportunity for one-on-one meetings with some of the industry’s finest to discuss their work; the winner receives mentoring from an experienced professional)
WINNER: The Graveyard Shift, written by Max Andrew Dubinsky and Matthew Carpenter

1 Potato Winner (short screenplay competition awards the screenwriter a $5,000 stipend to help shoot a film in Idaho)
WINNER: Girls Are Strong Here, written by Scott Burkhardt

Future Filmmaker Forum (showcasing student-made films and encourages students in their craft, storytelling and self-expression)
Hot Shot Winner ($1,000 prize): Control Yourself, directed by Zoe Takaki
Gabriel Spirit Award ($300 prize): Beyond the Wall, directed by Mia Nelson
Gem State Jr. Award ($500 prize): For Us, directed by Justin Buss


Pin It


Comments are closed.

© 2019 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation