There's Nothing Wrong With A Benefit 

2009 shall be hereby referred to as The Boise Benefit Year. High insurance premiums, a busted job market and exorbitant medical costs have had the people of Boise reaching out time and again to help their friends and neighbors.

What was supposed to be a tribute to the 15th anniversary of the release of Built To Spill's There's Nothing Wrong With Love has turned into a tribute-slash-benefit for the Jensen family, who were recently involved in a tragic car accident, which killed one family member and seriously injured others.

On Sunday, Sept. 13, a dozen local bands will gather at Visual Arts Collective to cover one song each from the seminal album. The lineup is as follows:

"In the Morning," The Invasion; "Reasons," The Very Most; "Big Dipper," Sleepy Seeds; "Car," With Child; "Fling," Grant Olsen; "Cleo," Spondee; "The Source," Juntura; "Twin Falls," Darkwood Consort (cool!); "Some," Matt Hopper; "Distopian Dream Girl," A Seasonal Disguise; "Israel's Song," Floomdorm; and "Stab," Fauxbois.

The show starts at 5 p.m. and cover is $5 to $15 on a sliding scale. All proceeds benefit the Jensen family. Visual Arts Collective, 3638 Osage St., Garden City, 208-424-8297, visualartscollective.com.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments


Comments are closed.

More by Amy Atkins


Submit an Event

Today's Pick

Ben Burdick Trio

Popular Events

  • Broken Outlaws @ Ha' Penny Bridge Irish Pub and Grill

    • Fri., May 4, 8 p.m., Sat., May 19, 8 p.m., Sat., May 26, 8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 8 p.m., Sat., June 9, 8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 8 p.m., Sat., July 14, 8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 8 p.m. and Sat., July 28, 8 p.m. FREE
  • Camden Hughes @ Chandlers Steakhouse

    • Wednesdays, 5:15 p.m. and Sat., April 28, 5:15 p.m. Continues through May 2 FREE
  • Porn Bloopers @ High Note Cafe

    • Sat., April 21, 9 p.m. FREE

© 2018 Boise Weekly

Website powered by Foundation